Stop Killing Us

I can’t

I can’t feel this grief

I can’t dwell on this sadness

I have to go to sleep tonight

I have to wake up tomorrow

I have to smile at my racist landlord

I have to chat with my white neighbors

I have to take the bus to school

I have to bite my tongue when they say

“We must have hope, we need love”

I have never needed love to not kill someone

I have to listen to black women being erased from our own genocide

While we carry a movement on our backs

And abandon ourselves along the way

I have to pretend black women are not being murdered

I have to pretend our femininity cloaks us with protection

Even though black women have never been afforded femininity

I have to fuss over a mirror tomorrow

While my insides twist and rot and bleed out of me

I have to pick up my neice

I have to keep it together

Just a little while longer

I can’t grieve

Not if I want to survive tomorrow

Not if I want to sleep tonight

I have to plan a funeral tomorrow

I can’t grieve

 

  • | Ayaan Dahir
3 thoughts on “Stop Killing Us

Leave a Reply

